Tuition and Required Fees

As a state-supported institution of higher education, The University of Texas at Dallas is required to comply with all state laws in the assessment and collection of tuition, fees, and deposits. The tuition, fees, and deposits listed herein are subject to change by state law. Pursuant to Chapter 54, Texas Education Code, each student who registers is required to pay tuition and fees appropriate to the student’s residence classification and according to the number of semester hours for which he or she has registered. It is the student’s responsibility to establish, prior to census day, the correct residence classification through the Office of the Registrar. Likewise, any student wishing to request a change of residence status for tuition purposes should do so through the Office of the Registrar. This will require completion of a residency questionnaire and the provision of documents to support the claim of Texas residency. Rules and regulations for determining residency are found in Appendix III of this catalog. Final authority of appeal for review of residence decisions rests with the Registrar and Director of Academic Records.

In accordance with state laws, a student is not entitled to enter a class or laboratory until registered and all tuition, fees, and deposits have been paid. The University cannot accept personal checks for amounts in excess of the total registration cost.

The University of Texas at Dallas utilizes a consolidated tuition rate, which is capped at 12 semester credit hours for resident graduate students. The consolidated tuition and fee rates cover all academic program costs; including tuition, mandatory fees, and most of the college and course incidental fees. Additional fees that will be charged separately are: field trip fees, supplemental designated tuition fees and distance education fees. The Tuition and Fee Tables can be found on the Bursar Office website.

There are other fees which may be required depending on classes taken and services used. (See “Other User Fees for Courses and Services”.)

Tuition for Excessive Doctoral Hours

For a doctoral student enrolling for the first time in Fall 1999, Section 54.012, Texas Education Code, establishes a maximum number of doctoral hours that a doctoral student may attempt while paying tuition at the rate provided for Texas residents. Attempted hours include all doctoral hours taken at a Texas institution of higher education for which a student was registered as of Census Day, including, but not limited to, courses that have been repeated, failed, and courses from which the student withdrew. The maximum is 99 doctoral hours. A student who exceeds the maximum hours may be charged tuition at the rate charged nonresident doctoral students. The higher tuition rate applies only to those doctoral semester credit hours that exceed 99 hours.

Tuition Installment Payments

A student may elect to pay tuition and fees for the fall and spring semesters and 12-week summer session under the installment payment plan (Section 54.007, Texas Education Code). A $25.00 fee per semester will be assessed each student who elects to pay by installments. Additionally, a late payment fee of $30.00 for delinquent payment will be assessed each time an installment is not paid by the date it is due. In the event of non-payment, the total amount due shall accrue interest from the third payment deadline at the rate of ten percent (10%) per year until the Note is paid in full.

Cooperative Arrangements

The University of Texas System

Concurrent Enrollment

A concurrent enrollment agreement is in place between The University of Texas at Dallas, The University of Texas at Arlington, and The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Branch. This agreement allows any student enrolled concurrently between these institutions to receive a waiver of certain fees (Sec. 54.503(g), Texas Education Code). The student must apply for concurrent enrollment with the Office of the Registrar.

Visiting Student Program

The U.T. System Visiting Student Program is designed to allow a graduate or professional student enrolled in an institution of the U.T. System to take courses or engage in research at another institution within the System during a regular semester or summer session. A U.T. Dallas graduate student, who has been admitted to a degree program at U.T. Dallas, must have completed a minimum of 15 semester credit hours at U.T. Dallas and be in academic good standing in order to be eligible to participate in the visiting student program. Courses to be taken under this visiting student program must have prior approval of the student’s degree program advisor. An approved Leave of Absence also is required. A Visiting student registers and pays tuition and required fees at his/her home institution and is given normal privileges associated with available student services at the exchange institution. A visiting student is subject to the rules and regulations of both institutions. Each U.T. System institution has designated an individual to coordinate and approve graduate or professional visiting students. Interested U.T. Dallas students should contact the Office of the Dean of Graduate Studies for additional information (Phone 972-883-2234; World Wide Web A student at other U.T. System schools wishing to take courses at U.T. Dallas under this visiting student program should contact and work through the graduate dean at the home institution.

Texas A&M University System

A cooperative arrangement between The University of Texas System and the Texas A&M University System allows a graduate student at one institution to use unique facilities or courses at the other institution with a minimum of administrative paperwork. The graduate student registers and pays tuition and fees at the home

Partial Tuition and Fee Exemptions

As a state sponsored institution of higher education in Texas, U.T. Dallas is authorized to award partial tuition and fee exemptions to a student who qualifies based on statutory criteria. Exemptions are available to certain students who have been in foster or other residential care in the state of Texas; certain students who received Aid for Dependent Children benefits during their senior year of high school; children of prisoners of war or persons missing in action; Texas residents who graduate from a public high school within 36 months of original enrollment and completed all years of high school in Texas; residents of Texas who have served in the armed forces of the United States; Texas residents classified by the U. S. Department of Defense as prisoners of war on or after January 1, 1999; children of POW/MIA, students from other nations of the western hemisphere; blind or deaf students; military personnel and dependents; children of disabled/deceased firefighters and peace officers; fireman enrolled in Fire Science classes, children of Texas veterans; children of professional nursing faculty, preceptors for professional nursing education programs, surviving spouse and minor children of certain police, security or emergency personnel killed in the line of duty; and certified educational aides. Senior citizens who are age 65 or older as of Census Day may be exempted from tuition for up to six semester credit hours each semester or summer term if space is available. Individuals who feel they may qualify under this section are requested to contact the Financial Aid (972) 883 2941.

Nonpayment of Debt

A student who fails to provide full payment of loans, tuition, and fees, including late fees assessed, to the university when the payments are due is subject to one or more of the following actions at the university’s option:

Refund of Tuition and Fees

For the Long Term (Fall and Spring Semesters) and 12-Week Summer Session

For the 6- and 8-Week Summer Sessions

Separate withdrawal refund schedules may be established for other fees and charges. Refer to the Other User Fees section for refund information.

Cash refunds will not be made to students who request refunds; instead, refund checks will be available at the Bursar Office two business days after the refund is requested unless the student has opted for direct deposit.  Direct deposits are normally available 5 to 6 business days fro the day they were requested.  Refund checks which are not picked up will be mailed to the current local address on file approximately four weeks after the day the refund was requested.

A student who registers before receiving grades from the previous semester, and who is required to withdraw because of failure in the work of the previous semester, will have all fees for the current semester refunded.

No refunds will be granted unless application is made within one year after official withdrawal.

All policies regarding the payment or refunding of tuition, fees, and charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with applicable state statutes. If a person desires clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of such charges, he or she should contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.

Refunding for Students in Title IV Programs

As an institution participating in programs under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended (“Act”), U.T. Dallas is required to refund unearned tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges to certain students attending the institution for the first time who have received a grant, a loan, or work assistance under Title IV of the Act or whose parents have received a loan on their behalf under 20 U.S.C. Section 1087-2. The refund is required if the student does not register for, withdraws from, or otherwise fails to complete the period of enrollment for which the financial assistance was intended. No refund is required if the student withdraws after a point in time that is sixty percent of the period of enrollment for which the charges were assessed. A student who withdraws prior to that time is entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges that is the larger of the amount provided for in Section 54.006, Texas Education Code, or a pro rata refund calculated pursuant to Section 484B of the Act, reduced by the amount of any unpaid charges and a reasonable administrative fee not to exceed the lesser of five percent of the tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges that were assessed for the enrollment period, or one hundred dollars. If the student’s charges were paid by Title IV funds, a portion or all of the refund will be returned to these programs.