Skip to Main Navigation
The University of Texas at Dallas
Graduate Admissions


The impact of today’s advancing technologies are causing some of the most dramatic changes in the history of civilization.  With a mandate from the State of Texas, Texas Instruments and industry, the Jonsson School is emerging as a national leader in the technological revolution.  The achievements of the School in its short 20-year history include:  

-SAT scores of freshmen that are the highest of any public university in Texas. 

-The enrollment of women in computer science is the highest of any public university.  

-During the 2002-03 and 2003-04 academic years, the School awarded more computer science degrees–bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees combined–than any other public U.S. university, according to the Survey of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

-The School is home to some of the world’s top faculty in several fields.  

-The School established the nation’s first accredited telecommunications engineering program.

With 900 high tech companies nearby, the Jonsson School’s location means that students and industry benefit from cutting edge research and development, top-notch internships and cooperative education programs and highly qualified employees. These are just a few benefits of a strong alliance between industry and academe.

At The University of Texas at Dallas, the strong tie that binds the University to corporations was present even at UTD’s inception. Some 31 years ago, the founders of Texas Instruments (TI) offered their private research and development institution to the State of Texas to become part of the University of Texas System. Seventeen years later, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board authorized UTD’s Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science to prepare students to tackle the rapidly changing world of technology and communications.

A strategic collaboration between UTD, Texas Instruments, and the State of Texas is helping to ensure that the Erik Jonsson School will be recognized as one of the nation’s elite engineering school.  This $300 million investment features construction of a 200,000 sq. ft. research building, the addition of 40 faculty members, recruitment of 400 full-time graduate research students, and the formation of new degree programs.  Focusing strong interest in the investment, TI built a $3 billion semiconductor chip manufacturing facility near the university if the State of Texas allocated $50 million for research at UTD.  The investment includes a commitment from UTD to raise $100 million from public and private sources.

UTD and the Jonsson School have maintained close ties with TI, but as enrollment and programs have grown, so have strong relationships with other corporations such as Alcatel, Nortel, Ericsson, Nokia, Verizon, Lucent, Zyvex, Raytheon, EDS, SBC Communications, Tri-Quint Semiconductor, Cisco Systems, Lockheed Martin, Intervoice, and many others. (The Jonsson School has recently been named as one of 5 world-wide research partners in Alcatel’s Preferred Partner program). Industry leaders have joined with UTD and the Jonsson School to conduct research, share resources, enhance educational opportunities, and develop new technologies.

The Jonsson School is organized into two departments, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. The Electrical Engineering Department was founded in 1988 and graduated its first MS student in 1989. It has grown to become the third largest EE program in the State, graduating over 165 students in 1999, and out-producing such well-known schools as the University of Colorado, Iowa State, Michigan State, and the University of Oklahoma. UTD’s Electrical Engineering Program provides high quality education and internationally competitive research to the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex and Texas, focusing its efforts on areas of greatest need to North Texas industry. The department features 42 tenured/tenure-track faculty members supported by 9 senior lecturers. The program specializes in the following areas: Communications and Signal Processing, Digital Systems, Microelectronic Circuits and Systems, Optical and Photonic devices, Materials and Systems, and Solid-State Devices and Circuits.

The Computer Science Department was created in 1975 and became a part of the Jonsson School in 1986. Today UTD boasts one of the largest computer science departments in the country, with a talented student body numbering more than1,500, taught by an internationally recognized group of 42 tenured/tenure-track faculty and 13 experienced senior lecturers. The UTD Department of Computer Science is committed to excellence in three areas: providing the highest quality instruction to undergraduate and graduate students; conducting leading edge research in computer science and engineering; and providing leadership and services to professional communities. The graduate curriculum focuses on preparing students to perform fundamental and development research. Courses and research are offered in a variety of sub-fields of computer science.


Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering
Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Master of Science in Computer Science
Master of Science in Computer Science (Major in Software Engineering)
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Major in Telecommunications)
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Major in Microelectronics)

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Master of Science in Telecommunications Engineering

Doctorof Philosophy in Biomedical Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science
Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering (Major in Microelectronics)

Doctor of Philosophy in Materials Science and Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Telecommunications Engineering

Last Updated: February 28, 2011