Skip to Main Navigation
The University of Texas at Dallas
Graduate Admissions

Other User Fees for Courses and Services*

* The following information is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change. Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative or regental action, and changes become effective on the date of enactment. The Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed below are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the University administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents. Fees can be found on the Bursar Office website for each term.


Application Fee: A nonrefundable application fee of $50.00 is required of all students applying for admission to The University of Texas at Dallas during the regular application period. If a student submits an application after the application deadline but prior to the documentation deadline, the application fee is $125.00 in order to process the application for decision in time to register for classes. An additional $50.00 international document evaluation fee is required for those who have educational documents from countries other than the United States. Please refer to the Enrollment Services website for application deadlines.

Audit Fee:  Students at The University of Texas at Dallas may, with the approval of the instructor and of the Office of the Registrar, audit courses. Auditing grants only the privilege of hearing and observing and does not grant credit. When approval has been granted, the applicant pays a fee of $100.00 per course. A student may withdraw from an audit course, but the fee will not be refunded. Persons 65 or over are permitted to audit without paying a fee. They must, however, qualify otherwise (see "Auditing"), complete the audit form, and have the consent of the instructor. Audit registration is permitted only during the late registration period of each semester or term.

Change of Major Fee:  There is a $50.00 fee for a student changing majors more than two times in an academic year.

Practical Training Fee: A $100.00 per semester fee is charged to assist in funding the administrative and clerical expenses required to review records and process the forms required by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service to certify international students for placement in curricular or optional practical training assignments.

Diploma Replacement or Duplicate Fee: A $10.00 fee is required to defray the cost of preparing a replacement or duplicate diploma. An additional $25.00 will be charged to mail a diploma to a foreign address.

Distance Learning Fee: A fee is assessed per semester credit hour to enroll in distance education courses offered over the Internet. A resident or non-resident student taking courses offered by the School of Management is charged $80.00 per semester credit hour. A student enrolled in Teacher Education TeleCampus courses will be charged $25.00 per semester credit hour.

Field Trip Fee: This fee is assessed to cover the costs of transportation, food, and/or lodging associated with a field trip. The amount of the fee varies depending on the destination and duration of the field trip. Every effort will be made to advise students of the field trip costs associated with a particular course at the time of registration, and the appropriate fee will be assessed at that time. Refund provisions do not apply to this fee.

Health Insurance Fee: A variable fee to pay the student’s premium for the approved UT Dallas student health insurance plan available to all students and required for an international students (students who are not US Citizens, US Permanent Residents, Asylees, Refugees ot undocumented aliens).

In Absentia Registration: A student who registers in absentia shall pay a nonrefundable/nontransferable registration fee of $100.00.

Installment Plan Handling Fee: A $25.00 fee to cover costs of providing a payment option for a student in full term fall or spring semester courses will be assessed. The plan is also available for a student enrolled in the 12-week summer semester.

Installment Plan Late Fee:  A late payment fee of $30.00 for delinquent payment will be assessed if the second or third tuition installment is not paid by the date it is due. 

International Student Special Services Fee: A $100.00 per semester fee will be assessed for on-going review and certification of a student with non-immigrant visa status in accord with federal regulations.

Late Course Add Fee: A $100.00 per course fee is assessed when a registered student adds a course after Census Day.

Late Graduation Fee:  A $100.00 non-refundable, non-transferable fee is assessed when an approved application for graduation is received after the deadline.

Late Registration/Late Payment Fee: A nonrefundable charge of $100.00 with additional increments of $50.00 based on the number of days past the regular registration/payment deadline is required to defray costs associated with extending registration times.

Library Fines and Charges: Fines and fees for overdue library items are as follows:

Main Stacks


Maximum $30.00






Maximum $50.00


$1.00/day (1st 6 days late)

$25 processing + $7 late fee + replacement fee (7th day)                 

Maximum $7.00 (for 1st 6 days late)

Computer Passwords for: CD, FD, Community User and Digital Microfilms workstations


Maximum $50.00

Laptops and Accessories



Lost items

*replacement cost of the item, a $25.00 processing fee, and any overdue fines.


*Copies of the complete fine schedule can be obtained at the McDermott Library Circulation/Reserve Desk. Individuals who fail to return overdue library materials may be subject to criminal action for theft.

Parking Fees: A parking decal is required to park any motorized vehicle on campus. Any vehicle parked on campus that does not display a current parking decal will be subject to a parking citation. Information regarding parking regulations and purchasing hang tags may be found online at . Decal fees may also be found on the other fees schedule at . Students may purchase the following hang tags online through the UT Dallas Online Store and mailed to the shipping address provided or purchase them in person at the Bursar Office:

• Remote: Allows students to park in the outer last row of campus green spaces.

• Green:  Allows students to park in campus green spaces

• Gold:  Allows students to park in campus gold or green spaces

• Evening Orange:  Allows students to park in orange marked spaces after 5pm or gold and green spaces anytime.

Resident parking – A parking decal is required for all on campus residents.  The following options are available:

• Resident Only: Allows students to park in resident parking ONLY.

• Resident Green: Allows students to park in resident parking or in green campus spaces.

• Resident Gold: Allows students to park in resident parking or in campus gold or green spaces.

Note: Only one hang tag may be sold per student residing on campus. 

Parking hang tags are refundable on a prorated basis with the exception of the resident only hang tag.

The Dallas Area Rapid Transit System (DART) provides bus service to the campus from the Richardson transfer terminal. Contact DART for schedule information.  Students are eligible for free transit passes from DART which are available through the Info Depot, located on the second floor of the Student Union.

Recreational Sports Group Exercise/Non-credit Course Fees: A $50.00 per course fee will be assessed for each group exercise class or non-credit course a student chooses to participate in.

Recreational Sports Locker Rental Fee: An optional locker rental fee of $5.00 - $15.00 (based on the size of the locker rented) per semester is required.

Recreational Sports Towel Service Fee: An optional towel service of $10.00 per semester is required.

Reinstatement Fee (Prior to Census Day): After the payment deadline for each semester, all registration for which tuition and fee payments have not been received may be canceled. If a student requests that the courses be reinstated before Census Day, a $25.00 reinstatement fee will be charged in addition to a graduated late registration fee. No student will be reinstated into a class that has been closed.

Reinstatement Fee (After Census Day): A $300.00 fee will be assessed, in addition to tuition and required fees, to enroll a student after Census Day.

Returned Check Fee: A student will be assessed a $25.00 fee for each returned check unless his/her bank provides written notification it was at fault. If a student writes bad checks to the university for tuition and fees the student’s registration will be canceled unless full payment is made by the census day listed in the Academic Calendar online.

Student Identification Card Replacement Fee: A $20.00 fee is required to defray the costs of reissuing a student ID card.

Student Teaching Supervisory Fee: A $250.00 per field experience fee is required to defray costs of providing university supervisors and travel of university supervisors of student teachers.

Supplemental Designated Tuition:  A $40.00 per semester credit hour fee will be assessed for students enrolled in any School of Management undergraduate course, School of Engineering and Computer Science course, School of Arts and Humanities ATEC course or School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences graduate Speech Language or Audiology (COMD or AUD) course.  A $60.00 per semester fee will be assessed for students enrolled in any graduate School of Management course. These fees are assessed to defray the higher costs associated with instruction in these schools.

Universities Center at Dallas Fee: A $15.00 per semester credit hour fee is required to defray the costs of courses taken at the Universities Center at Dallas.


Last Updated: December 13, 2012